Perfection vs. Excellence

I recently discovered that I don’t know the difference between perfection and excellence. To quote Brene Brown again, this has caused a breakdown spiritual awakening.

I was a competitive gymnast for nine years, and for me, these terms were (and still are) synonymous. Inherent in the quest for the “perfect 10” was the notion that perfection was the end goal; perfection was the entire point of the pursuit. While a 9.2 or a 9.5 was good and laudable, it was less than ideal on the excellence barometer. Thus, you were only deemed excellent when you were perfect. At least this is how it cemented in my brain.

Apparently, this isn’t the case. These terms are in fact different, and the pursuit of one is life-crushing, while the pursuit of the other can be life-giving.

In light of this recent revelation, I’ve been strongly exhorted to challenge my current schema by first, teasing these terms apart, and second, defining them so I know what I’m working with, and what I’m working towards. Truthfully, I’m at a loss and would like your feedback to help jump start my cognitive reorientation.


6 responses to “Perfection vs. Excellence

  • Barb

    There has only ever been one perfect person to walk this earth and that of course was Jesus Christ. So stop trying to be perfect 🙂 it’s an impossible goal! Instead focus on excellence. You have within your control to set just where that boundary is. Evaluate each situation and assign the defining lines of average, above average and excellent, with excellent being a range, not just only 100%. Everyone has differing concepts of what excellent “is” , so don’t be dissuaded by someone else’s perception. For instance, a gymnastics event earned you a 9.5 because that’s what the judge determined it to be, but IF you had set your determination of excellence based on completing the routine without falling, then irregardless of the number score you did indeed achieve excellence. If you can honestly say ” I did the best I could”, (whatever the action) then revel in your excellence. Remember, it is God we need to hear “well done” from, not the world.

    Like

  • jconzen

    Thanks Mom. Your response provided a lot of necessary “grounding” for me. Setting appropriate expectations has always been a challenge for me, but as you so nicely put it, only I can set the appropriate boundaries for myself. In prayer recently, I heard God telling me: “my perfection will cover your imperfections.” I need to cling to this, as well as your words of wisdom. As always, thanks for reading.

    Like

  • bh

    IMHO… perfection is the measurement of process, while excellence is the measurement of outcome. They are absolutely not dependent on each other, and the abuse of one can ruin the other.

    Like

    • jconzen

      From one perfectionist to another:). I appreciate the feedback. It took me forever to figure out IMHO. No joke, I had to ask someone. I thought I was out of practice figuring out your acronyms, but apparently this is an extremely common one that I should’ve known:).

      Like

  • Tgarza

    Great stuff!! When is the next post? 😉

    Like

Leave a comment